You may have noticed (and/or lamented) that when you click on a link to watch a video on the site, a popup displays on your screen immediately afterwards. Here’s why! This popup is an opportunity for you to either:
1) Mark the episode as watched and save that information to your SideReel account.
2) Flag the link for removal if it did not function properly. You can then select a different link.
Since we realized how different these 2 functions are, we’ve revised this popup in the hopes of making it even more useful!
Now, after clicking on a link, SideReel will attempt to guess on your behalf whether you will want to do #1 or #2. Depending on this guess, you’ll see a different popup. If we think you were successfully able to watch your episode, we will display this:
Believe it or not, these new popups have already been out on the site for over a month. We really hope that they have helped to make your episode watching experience on SideReel even more positive; they have certainly helped us to maintain a better catalog. However, keep in mind that if you prefer not to see this popup after clicking on a link that does not work, that you can disable it from your preferences on your profile.
As always, we’re happy to hear any feedback you about this feature. Has it worked for you? Did you even notice a change?
-The SideReel Team